Friends, The Sou Chef and the Great Mac-N-Cheese Affair

~Let It Be by Alex Goot~

Well, well, well. Let me dust this off real quick. (Blows off keyboard)

I’m starting to find that when one tries to start up a blog, of any sort really; if you’re not used to posting every so often, you forget you have one. Last week has been one insane week however let me tell you. From hanging out with your friend the Road Tripper, to schmoozing with one of your favorite Dynamo players at the game, to even enjoying the homecoming of a Father to his family and the smiles they all shared (let me tell you, that’s an emotion that’s just special).

Last week I teased the idea of me doing a Oreo Desert, however sadly I wasn’t able to get to that. I did however create an amazing Macaroni and Cheese dish that was really easy. Here’s what you’ll need.

 

Homemade Baked Gouda and Chedder Mac n Cheese::

Capture

16 oz of Elbow Macaroni
2 cups of Shredded Cheddar Cheese (I used Smoked Cheddar)
1/2 cup Shredded Gouda Cheese
2 cans (12 ounces) of Evaporated Milk
2 1/2 tablespoons of All Purpose Flour
2 tablespoons cup of Butter (I used Unsalted)
1/4 Teaspoon of Peprika
Pinch of Pepper (to taste)
Bread Crumbs (I used Italian Style)

First and fore-most, pre-heat your oven to 350. It’ll help in the long run.

Secondly, you want to get the noodles going, so get that water boiling. I add a dash of Olive Oil and Salt to my boil, just to make sure the noodles dont stick and the water gets activated “quicker”. I also find the Olive Oil makes the noodles a little more softer. Maybe I’m psyching myself out. That process should take about 10 minutes. Once the water is at a strong roll, add the noodles and let them cook until slightly al dente.

While you are waiting for the noodles to cook, it would be a perfect time to get your cheese sauce going.  In a saucepan, melt the 2 tablespoons of  butter over medium heat. Stir in enough flour to make a roux. This part I found rough, as it was my first ever roux. Slowly add the flower, it will start to clump and become more of a paste. So to counteract this, I just alternated adding the evaporated milk and flour, making sure to  stir constantly. Once you have that roux looking nice and think (should almost look like a thick sauce) stir in your cheeses, and cook over low heat until cheese is melted and the sauce is a little thick. This should take roughly the same time for the noodles to cook (10 minutes)

Go back to the noodles, drain and place in a casserole pan. Add the cheese and mix. Once the noodles are covered to your liking, cover the top of your noodles with bread crumbs, I’m very generous in my topping.  Then, pop it in the oven for 30 minutes. Pull out and BOOM, gorgeous baked mac-n-cheese.

_____________________________

Now I’ve noticed with other blogs they will have pictures of the steps as well. Fear not, I will start posting them. Tonight I’m going to be playing Sou Chef with my friend Racheal as we put together Pasta Milano, Garlic Bread and an Italian Salad. Look for that post next. I also haven’t forgotten the Oreo dish, so that will be later this week as I go to Florida and cook for some friends there!

Thanks for reading, and happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

